Farmington Heights Church has a rich heritage dating back to 1947. On November 2, 1947, 37 members officially joined with the Church of God denomination (Cleveland, Tennessee). The church was birthed following a two-month tent revival in Wilson, North Carolina, with Reverend A.V. Childers. The first pastor was Reverend Archie Luke. A small tent was borrowed for the first meeting space, until it caved in during a snowstorm. The growing congregation then moved to a small store building located near downtown. Sunday school was held at the home of a member who lived beside the store.
By April 1948, the newly organized church had grown and the members wanted to build a church. They built a rectangular building on Lodge Street with no classrooms, no air conditioning, no fellowship hall, no carpet, no padded pews, no water coolers and no restrooms. The only thing they had was a pot belly stove.